h1

Videotron… have you heard of Canada!

February 21, 2007

I like most montrealers use videotron as our cable operator. I used to be with Star Choice (Because I love TV) and even though I have been back with videotron for the past 7 months, I still miss my Albertan satalite service. Videotron seems to only care about its core clientel, which happens to be “Pure-Laine” quebecers and distinguishing itself from the satelite carriers by ignoring the rest of Canada in its chanel line up. For the same money, Star Choice delivered about 100 more chanels, by letting me time shift, and giving me access to a lot more specialty chanels then I have now.

I could accept this lack on Videotron’s part if it wasn’t fopr the fact that their signal seems to fade, the 5.1 suround sound that I paid for… only apears once in a while. Unlike Rogers, Videotron only gives you access to the nifty advanced functions of our digital cable box, such as viewing shows on demand if it happen to belong to TVA. Most cable operators can project three version of the same chanels on their bandwidth, and videotron only does it for their own material. Its become pretty evident that if you happen to be a so-called “allophone” of even worst english speaking, well they arn’t about to go after your business. Take a walk through any culturaly diversified neighbourhood in Montreal and look at the dominance of Bell ExpressVu in these neighbourhoods. I know that some of these have been pirated, but more and more people of all backgrounds are realising that satelite operators are offering you more.
Ok… thats the end of my rant… I do feell better.

One comment

  1. Interesting. Yet another clear example of how the prevalence of piracy is indicative of monopolistic practices.



Leave a Reply

